The Beginning of October

Girl-4-Lrg

It is difficult for me to believe it has been about a year since the last time I wrote a newsletter. I’ve been quite ill but I am beginning to feel more like myself lately. I suspended my Internet store, boxed all my items and store them in a bedroom until I felt sure that I could provide decent customer service. I hope to restore my website and start offering inexpensive items for the holidays.

October arrived here in Northern New Jersey with a stark reminder that Fall as also arrived, with bleak, cold, rainy days. But that is okay with me because it is great weather for working on the Internet and organizing closets etc. The stores are filled with Fall flowers, pumpkins and of course Halloween costumes and loads of candy. I love this season, one holiday after the other, and one excuse after the other to get together with family and friends. I am looking forward to all fuss and work involved in preparing for the various holidays this year.

This is a very short note to all of you, but I plan to start writing more often and have a lot to write about in the month of October.

We will start with the Jewish New Year because Rosh Hashanah begins at sundown tonight.

Rosh Hashanah

Rosh Hashanah is one of the holiest holidays in the Jewish faith and occasion for families and communities to come together begins at sunset on October 2, 2016 and ends nightfall on October 3, 2016.

SHOFAR

 The central of Rosh Hashanah is the sounding of the shofar, the ram’s horn, which also represents the trumpet blast of a people’s coronation of their king. The cry of the shofar is also a call to repentance, for Rosh Hashanah is also the anniversary of man’s first sin and his repentance.

Additional Rosh Hashanah observances include: a) Eating a piece of apple dipped in honey, to symbolize our desire for a sweet year, and other special foods symbolic of the new year’s blessings. b) Blessing one another with the words,”“May you be inscribed and sealed for a good year.” c) Tashlich, a special prayer said near a body of water (an ocean, river, pond, etc.), in evocation of the verse, “And You shall cast their sins into the depths of the sea.”

More to come soon.

 Till next time—Carolee Z

 

About CaroleeZ

The Carolee Community was established in 1993 to gather small businesses and creative people and help them promote their products and services. In addition, Carolee operates an Internet Gift shoppe offering a variety of creative products (jewelry,collectibles and more) at www.caroleespecialties.com View all posts by CaroleeZ

Leave a Reply

